Pages

Thursday, May 10, 2012

Someday Stars: Meet Lora Rose Rivera


What’s your name, and where are you from?
Lora Rose Rivera (the middle name is my grandmother's). I was born in Camden, New Jersey, but was raised and spent most of my life in Daytona Beach, FL. Living there isn't nearly as cool as visiting (or Spring Breaking), btw. 

How long have you been writing?
 All my life. My aunt who lived in Miami would send me these snail mail coupons: "One 100-word story about your weekend entitles you to your Beanie Baby of choice, to be redeemed by the end of the month." Are you kidding?? Sign me up STAT! I'll tell you all about my lame weekend :D  

What genre(s) do you write?
I write Middle Grade and YA fantasy and sci-fi. Also, adult literary fiction.
  
What’s your current WIP? Can you tell us about it?
My WIP's being all persnickety with me, genre-wise, but I'll do my best. So it's YA urban fantasy (that reads more like a literary sword & sorcery) with a splash of Gothic ghosties… Um. Yeah. 

What’s your current day job? How does it help or hinder your writing?
I'm thrilled my day job is with Aviva Children's Services in Tucson, Arizona, where I write Life Books for kids in foster care. Life Books are scrapbook biographies, telling a child's story from the beginning to their present circumstance, and involve a lot of research and compassion.

I do expend a lot of creative energy writing these books that could otherwise be injected into my writing. On the other hand, the process is personally fulfilling and is also stimulating, creatively and intellectually… I think it's a great trade-off.  

Who is your favorite author?
I adore Orson Scott Card, Ursula K. Le Guin, Neil Gaiman, Brandon Sanderson, C. S. Lewis (childhood fave), J. K. Rowling, Michael Ondaatje, Erin Bow, Barbara Kingsolver…

Favorite book? 
I don't have one. Just can't.

What other hobbies or activities do you do outside of writing? 
Love eating! Hehe. But seriously, trying new locally-owned, eclectic restaurants; baking/cooking awesome new recipes, especially muffins and cupcakes :) Also, hiking, running. I love meeting new people.

What is something unique about yourself?
I have an Orion's belt of freckles on my right leg. The freckles are only off by 1 degree—I know: I printed a protractor and checked! 
  
Do you have a blog, Twitter, and/or Web site we can link to?
Find me on:



8 comments:

  1. An urban fantasy sword and sorcery sounds fun. Also the Orion's belt of freckles is maybe a sign that you're supposed to write the next great space opera.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I wouldn't be opposed to that one bit.

      Delete
  2. You printed off a protractor to check? hhahhaha! That's fabulous. I love your day job too. That's a winner all the way around. Keep going, Lora!

    Great interview series, Charlie. =)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks for hosting this interview, Charlie. Just so you know, the WIP's genre is STILL kicking my butt!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have every confidence that you will tame the monster ;)

      Delete
  4. I love the interview. I bet her MG is awesome. I'm horrid at it. I'm also insanely jealous of her day job. Gah, I would kill for a cooler job like that.

    Great interview, Charlie! And when are you moving? So sad.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Haha! Yea, I have a hobby of eating, too ;)

    ReplyDelete